WP Rugby dominates local awards

PUBLISHED: November 25, 2013

Western Province Rugby picked up eight awards at the 2013 WP Sports Council Awards held in Cape Town on Friday night, with DHL WP duo Eben Etzebeth and Cheslin Kolbe and Women’s star Natasha Hoffmeister all picking up individual gongs.

Etzebeth, who has also been nominated for the prestigious IRB World Player of the Year Award this season, was voted as the WP Sports Council’s Sportsman of the Year for 2013.

Kolbe, meanwhile, was rewarded for his breakthrough year at senior provincial level – despite still being Under-20 – with the Junior Sportsman of the Year gong and women’s ace Hoffmeister was deservedly named as the Sportswoman of the Year.

The DHL WP Absa Currie Cup team was named Team of the Year, whilst the WP Rugby Football Union was handed the title as the WP Sport Council’s Federation of the Year.

DHL WP coach Allister Coetzee and Under-21 star Sikhumbuzo Notshe were runners-up in their respective categories (Coach of the Year and Newcomer of the Year), whilst referee Marius van der Westhuizen, WP President Thelo Wakefield and Herman Abrahams were also rewarded for their services to the game.

All the WP Rugby winners at the 2013 WP Sports Council Awards:

Sportsman of the Year: Eben Etzebeth
Sportswoman of the Year: Natasha Hoffmeister
Junior Sportsman of the Year: Cheslin Kolbe

Team of the Year: DHL Western Province Absa Currie Cup team
Federation of the Year: The Western Province Rugby Football Union

Recognition of Technical Excellence: Marius van der Westhuizen

Lifetime Achievement Award: Thelo Wakefield and Herman Abrahams

School Team of the Year: Paarl Gymnasium First XV (rugby)