DHL WP U21 unchanged for North-South

PUBLISHED: May 10, 2024

The DHL Western Province U21 starting line-up is unchanged for the clash with Vodacom Bulls U21 at City Park on Saturday.

Coming off an away win against Hollywoodbets Sharks U21 in Durben last week, captain Paul de Villiers’ team will be looking to back up their opening victory against the Pretoria side when action gets underway at 14h00 on Saturday in Athlone.

There are just two changes to the replacements bench, with hooker Joshua Eras and utility back Deano Boesak joining the matchday squad.

Head Coach Johnno van der Walt said that continuity in selection is vital for the combinations to build at this early stage of the season.

“We were happy to get the win on the road last week, but there are still plenty of areas we can improve in and would like to see some progress on Saturday.

“We need to make the most of home advantage and we know we will be tested by the Vodacom Bulls, so hopefully we will see a step up in intensity on Saturday at City Park,” he said.

DHL WP U21: 15 Ethan Isaacs, 14 Ryan Manuel, 13 Jonathan Roche, 12 Damian Markus, 11 Jared Africa, 10 Compion von Ludwig, 9 Imad Khan, 8 Max du Pisani, 7 Andre Goedhals, 6 Paul de Villiers (captain), 5 Carel van der Merwe, 4 Patrick Kitete, 3 Hendrik Lubbe, 2 Johan Lombard, 1 Mhleli Kuzwayo.
Replacements: 16 Joshua Eras, 17 Matthew Beckett, 18 Juan Ryan, 19 Xola Nyali, 20 Wandile Mlaba, 21 Kristoff Smith, 22 Deano Boesak, 23 Ulrich Wahl.