DHL WP on top at Loftus

PUBLISHED: March 17, 2023

DHL Western Province claimed a 41-33 bonus point win against the Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Friday to make it two from two in the Currie Cup this season.

The four-try performance means that DHL Western Province have a full house of 10 log points from their opening two games, both away from home on the highveld.

The first half was a breathless affair, with both teams keen to run the ball.

DHL Western Province got the scoring underway with a penalty from flyhalf Kade Wolhuter and the home side responded with a try in the corner from Springbok wing S’bu Nkosi.

The visitors were back in front soon afterwards however as No.8 Keke Morabe picked up a loose ball and hurtled down the touchline before getting it away to scrumhalf Paul de Wet to finish the try.

They followed that up with a second try as an incredible counter-attack from wing Ruhan Nel saw Wolhuter score out wide.

The Vodacom Bulls hit back with a try from centre Cornal Hendricks and although Wolhuter added a second penalty, it was the home side who took a slender 19-18 lead into the break as scrumhalf Zak Burger scored on the stroke of half-time.

DHL Western Province were back in front at the start of the second half as Nel scored in the corner from another impressive counter-attack, with Wolhuter adding the touchline conversion.

The Vodacom Bulls took the one-point lead back with a maul try from hooker Johan Grobbelaar and they followed that up with another from lock Francois Klopper.

But those would be their last points of the evening as DHL Western Province finished strong.

A try from Blommetjies in the corner, which was set up by an incredible offload from Jean-Luc du Plessis, brought them back within a point and they followed that up with two further penalties from Wolhuter.

That sealed an incredible 41-33 win to make it back-to-back away wins to start the Currie Cup.

The scorers:

De Wet, Wolhuter, Nel, Blommetjies
Cons: Wolhuter 3
Pens: Wolhuter 5

For Vodacom Bulls:
Nkosi, Hendricks, Burger, Grobelaar, Klopper
Cons: Smith 4

DHL Western Province: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 Connor Evans, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Kwenzo Blose.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Dylan de Leeuw, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Hacjivah Dayimani, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Bruce Sherwood.

Vodacom Bulls: David Kriel, Quewin Nortje, Cornal Hendricks, Harold Vorster, S’bu Nkosi, Chris Smith, Zak Burger; Elrigh Louw, Cyle Brink, Marco van Staden, Ruan Nortje (captain), Ruan Vermaak, Mornay Smith, Johan Grobbelaar, Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: Bismarck du Plessis, Simphiwe Matanzima, Francois Klopper, Janko Swanepoel, WJ Steenkamp, Embrose Papier, Morne Steyn, Stedman Gans.