DHL WP start Currie Cup with a bang

PUBLISHED: March 11, 2023

DHL Western Province started their Currie Cup campaign with a five-try 44-28 win against Fidelity ADT Lions in Johannesburg.

Four tries in the first half and one in the second were enough to see DHL Western Province take a full five log points from their opening game.

The game got off to a fast start, with both teams scoring in the opening five minutes.

DHL Western Province opened the scoring with a maul try from hooker Scarra Ntubeni and the home side responded with a try from left wing Baldwin Hansen.

Flyhalf Kade Wolhuter put the visitors back in front with a penalty from inside his own half and the lead was out at double figures when flank Marcel Theunissen burst through a gap to score the second try.

DHL Western Province were down to 14 when Juan de Jongh was shown yellow for making contact with an opposition player in the air and the Fidelity ADT Lions took advantage with a second try from Hansen.

Despite being down a man DHL Western Province kept scoring as No.8 Keke Morabe went over from a maul.

Wolhuter added another long-range penalty and the bonus point was wrapped up before half-time as replacement wing Suleiman Hartzenberg scored from a blindside move.

That saw the visiting team take a commanding 34-14 lead into the break and they absorbed some pressure early in the second half, although Morabe was shown a yellow card for repeated infringement from the team.

Replacement hooker Andre-Hugo Venter scored from another impressive maul and although the home side managed two more tries in the second half to claim a bonus point for their efforts, they never really looked like threatening the lead as DHL Western Province got their Currie Cup campaign off to the ideal start.

The scorers:

Ntubeni, Theunissen, Morabe, Hartzenberg, Venter
Cons: Wolhuter 5
Pens: Wolhuter 3

For Fidelity ADT Lions:
Hansen 2, Roets, Steyn
Cons: Isaacs 4

DHL Western Province: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 Connor Evans, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Kwenzo Blose.
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Dylan de Leeuw, 20 Louwan Horn, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Bruce Sherwood, 23 Suleiman Hartzenberg.