Unbeaten DHL WP take Eagles down

PUBLISHED: May 19, 2017

DHL Western Province picked up their fourth consecutive SuperSport Rugby victory when they beat SWD Eagles 38-11 at DHL Newlands on Friday.

Two tries each from right wing Craig Barry and hooker Chad Solomon helped secure a convincing bonus-point victory following their bye last week.

The visitors were first to score through an early penalty from fullback Leighton Eksteen, but DHL Western Province scored the first try as right wing Craig Barry burst through to score under the poles and put them 7-3 ahead.

SWD reduced the deficit to just one point with another Eksteen penalty, but DHL Wstern Province responded with another try as fullback Grant Hermanus picked up a looseball to go over and make it 14-6.

There was enough time in the first half for another try as Barry forced his way over from close range to pick up a brace, with the conversion giving DHL Western Province a 21-6 adantage at the break.

The home side started the second half with serious intent and they were rewarded with two quick tries from hooker Chad Solomon as the forward pack started to assert themselves on the opposition.

SWD got their first try when right wing Charles Radebe went over out wide to reduce DHL Western Province’s lead to 33-11 with 20 minutes to play.

DHL Western Province were awarded a penalty try in the final stages which eaed the 45-11 victory.

The scorers:

Tries: Barry 2, Hermanus, Solomon 2, penalty try
Cons: Hermanus 4

For SWD Eagles:
Try: Radebe
Pens: Eksteen 2

DHL Western Province: 15 Grant Hermanus, 14 Craig Barry, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Scott van Breda, 11 Khanyo Ngcukana, 10 Errol Jaggers (DHL WP debut), 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Luke Stringer, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Eital Bredenkamp (captain), 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Eduard Zandberg, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Frans van Wyk, 18 Jurie van Vuuren, 19 Conway Pretorius, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Ernst Stapelberg, 22 Michal Hazner.

SWD Eagles: 15 Leighton Eksteen, 14 Charles Radebe, 13 Kirsten Heyns, 12 Johnny Welthagen, 11 Adri Jacobs, 10 Quaid Langelveldt, 9 Dillin Snel, 8 Thor Halvorsen, 7 Lodewyk Uys, 6 Johannes Stander, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Brendon Snyman, 3 Basil Short, 2 Jan van der Merwe, 1 Teunis Niewoudt.
Replacements: 16 Juandre Digue, 17 Ayoob Moerat, 18 Freginald Africa, 19 Christo du Plessis, 20 Shadward Fillies, 21 Wilneth Engelbrecht, 22 Marlo Weich.