Six-try DHL WP sink Blue Bulls

PUBLISHED: August 12, 2017

DHL Western Province scored six tries in their 45-34 Currie Cup victory against the Vodacom Blue Bulls at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

It was the second win of the campaign for coach John Dobson’s team who have not lost at DHL Newlands in the Currie Cup this season.

The home side were rampant in the first half as they scored all of their tries in the first 40 minutes to claim a healthy 42-13 advantage at half-time.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls were first to score through a penalty from flyhalf Tony Jantjies, but DHL Western Province responded with the opening try as a counter-attack saw SP Marais find Seabelo Senatla in space to put Nizaam Carr over in the corner.

The visitors kicked another penalty but they were soon 14-6 down as DHL Western Province flyhalf Damian Willemse produced an incredible solo try, stepping his way past a number of defenders to score.

With the momentum firmly on their side DHL Western Province continued to press home their advantage as Marais forced his way over from close range.

The bonus point try did not take long as Senatla scored out wide after getting a well-weighted pass from centre Huw Jones.

A powerful maul saw Scarra Ntubeni score the fifth try before the Vodacom Blue Bulls hit back with a try of their own against the run of play from scrumhalf Piet van Zyl.

Senatla scored his second try shortly before the break, but DHL Western Province were reduced to 14 men just before half-time with centre EW Viljoen shown a yellow card.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls made a determined start to the second half and they were rewarded with two tries from right wing Kefentse Mahlo before DHL Western Province made it 45-27 with a Marais penalty with 20 minutes left.

However, the visitors continued to fight back as replacement hooker Johan Grobbelaar went over for their bonus point try, but it was not enough as DHL Western Province held on for the win.

The scorers:

Tries: Carr, Willemse, Marais, Senatla 2, Ntubeni
Cons: Marais 6
Pen: Marais

For Vodacom Blue Bulls:
Tries: Van Zyl, Mahlo 2, Grobbelaar
Con: Jantjies 3
Pens: Jantjies 2

DHL Western Province: 15 SP Marais, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Michael Kumbirai, 18 Eddie Zandberg, 19 Steph de Wit, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Dan Kriel.

Vodacom Blue Bulls: 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Kefentse Mahlo, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tony Jantjies, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Nic de Jager, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Boom Prinsloo (captain), 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Pierre Schoeman.
Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Matthys Basson, 18 Abongile Nonkontwana, 19 Shaun Adendorff, 20 Andre Warner, 21 JT Jackson, 22 Duncan Matthews.