DHL WP XV too strong for Pumas

PUBLISHED: April 1, 2017

The DHL Western Province XV scored six tries n their way to a 40-19 victory against the Steval Pumas in their friendly encounter at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The hosts were first to strike after a patient build-up saw left wing Valentino Wellman go over in the corner and flyhalf Brandon Thomson added the touchline conversion to put DHL Western Province XV 7-0 up.

They doubled that lead soon afterwards as centre Scott van Breda ran a great line to slice through the Steval Pumas defence on the 20 minute mark.

The visitors regrouped and hit back with a try from flank Marnus Schoeman who bashed his way over to reduce the deficit to 14-7.

DHL Western Province XV had the final say in the first half as Van Breda took another gap to go over for his second try and Thomson was able to add another wide conversion to put them 21-7 up at the break.

The Steval Pumas were first to strike in the second half as No.8 Carel Greeff forced his way over to reduce DHL Western Province’s advantage to 21-14.

DHL Western Province responded with their fourth try as replacement scrumhalf Justin Phillips sniped through a gap to score and take their lead out to 28-14 after 60 minutes.

Next to score was loosehead prop Alistair Vermaak who dived over in the corner after an impressive build-up featuring a break from Marcello Sampson who found Johan du Toit in support.

Tristan Leyds was next to score for DHL Western Province XV before Greeff got a late consolation try for the visitors.

The scorers:

Tries: Wellman, Van Breda 2, Phillips, Vermaak, Leyds
Cons: Thomson 4, Sampson

For Steval Pumas:
Tries: Schoeman, Greeff 2
Cons: Marais 2

DHL Western Province XV: 15 Grant Hermanus, 14 Khanyo Ngcukana, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 Scott van Breda, 11 Valentino Wellman, 10 Brandon Thomson, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Conway Pretorius, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Jan de Klerk, 4 Brendan Esterhuizen, 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Ayoub Moerat, 18 Michael Kumburai, 20 Eddie Zandberg, 21 Daniel Maree, 22 Johan du Toit, 23 Nyasha Tarusenga, 24 Justin Phillips, 25 Errol Jaggers, 26 Chevandre van Schoor, 27 Marcello Sampson, 28 Nico Leonard, 29 Tristan Leyds.

Steval Pumas: 15 Sias Ebersohn, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Deon Helberg, 12 Hennie Skorbinski, 11 JP Lewis, 10 Kobus Marais, 9 Emile Temperman, 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Johan Grundlingh, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jeremy Jordaan, 3 Marne Coetzee, 2 Frank Herne (captain), 1 De Jay Terblanche.
Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Louis Albertse, 18 Jacques Kotze, 19 Reuben Johannes, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Devon Williams, 22 Leighton van Wyk, 23 Tazz Fuzani, 24 Stephan Greeff, 25 Willie Engelbrecht, 26 Simon Westraadt, 27 Marlou van Niekerk, 28 Tyler Fisher.