DHL WP grind Boland down in Strand

PUBLISHED: June 10, 2017

DHL Western Province were forced to work hard for their 22-8 victory against Boland in a SuperSport Rugby Challenge Cape Derby in Strand on Saturday.

It was the seventh consecutive victory for DHL Western Province who remain unbeaten, although they were pushed all the way by their local rivals in slippery conditions at the Charles Morkel Stadium.

Boland made a determined start to the game and were rewarded for their efforts with an early penalty from flyhalf Divan Nel.

The visitors enjoyed an early territorial advantage, but the DHL Western Province defence held out well to deny them a try and they were back on level terms before long through a penalty from Kurt Coleman.

The opening try came through some hard work up front as the DHL Western Province forwards did the hard work before skipper Eital Bredenkamp forced his way over in the corner before leaving the field with concussion.

Boland levelled things up again at 8-8 when tighthead prop Clinton Theron claimed a DHL Western Province line-out ball and barged over for a try.

Boland were reduced to 14 men shortly afterwards when hooker Clemen Lewis was shown a yellow card, but DHL Western Province were not able to take advantage before half-time as the teams went into the break deadlocked at 8-8.

Neither side were willing to give an inch as the second half got off to a tense start with a number of big hits from both side.

Coleman was the one to find a moment of magic as he dummied his way through the Boland defensive line to score a great individual try which gave his team a 15-8 advantage once he converted.

They added to that soon afterwards as centre Michal Hazner collected a chip over the top to score under the poles to seal the 22-8 victory.

The scorers:

Tries: Bredenkamp, Coleman, Hazner
Cons: Coleman 2
Pen: Coleman

For Boland:
Try: Theron
Pen: Nel

DHL Western Province: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Grant Hermanus, 13 Michal Hazner, 12 Ruhan Nel, 11 Khanyo Ngcukana, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Eital Bredenkamp (captain), 5 Ruben de Villiers, 4 Jurie van Vuuren, 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Ash Wells, 18 Luke Stringer, 19 Nyasha Tarusenga, 20 Herschel Jantjies, 21 Errol Jaggers, 22 Valentino Wellman.

Boland Cavaliers: 15 JP Coetzee, 14 Charles Mayeza, 13 Alcino Izaacs, 12 Edwin Sass, 11 Sergio Torrens, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Vian van der Watt, 8, Wayne Wilschut (captain) 7 Kenan Cronje, 6 Gareth Cilliers, 5 Rinus Bothma, 4 Marlyn Williams, 3 Clinton Theron, 2 Clemen Lewis, 1 Arnout Malherbe.
Replacements: 16 Chadley Wenn, 17 Linda Thwala, 18 Yves Bashiya, 19 Ludio Williams, 20, Jovelian de Koker, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 Gerrit van Wyk.