DHL WP go down against Lions

PUBLISHED: October 8, 2017

A late surge from Xerox Golden Lions saw DHL Western Province go down 29-20 in their Currie Cup clash at Emirates Airline Park on Sunday.

Despite the defeat DHL Western Province remain in second place on the standings, but will require a victory against the Cell C Sharks in Durban next week to secure a semifinal spot.

DHL Western Province were dominant in the first half, scoring two tries to take a 17-10 advantage into the half-time break.

The visitors opened the scoring at a rainy Emirates Airline Park with an early penalty from flyhalf Robert du Preez and followed that up with the opening try as Nizaam Carr finished off a flowing movement which saw decisive touches from Ruhan Nel, EW Viljoen and Huw Jones.

The Xerox Golden Lions got on the scoreboard with a penalty of their own and were on level terms shortly afterwards through a try from Sylvian Mahuza.

DHL Western Province hit back with a try from Du Preez who dummied his way through a gap before the teams were forced off the field just before half-time due to a hail storm.

Du Preez kicked another penalty early in the second half, but those were to be the last points of the match for DHL Western Province as the hosts scored three unanswered tries to secure a comeback victory and keep their own play-off hopes alive.

The scorers:

Tries: Carr, Du Preez
Con: Du Preez
Pens: Du Preez 2

For Xerox Golden Lions:
Tries: Mahuza, Dyantyi, Herbst, Janse van Rensburg
Cons: Van der Walt 3
Pen: Van der Walt

DHL Western Province: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Jan de Klerk, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Werner Kok, 22 Craig Barry.

Xerox Golden Lions: 15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Harold Vorster, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Ashlon Davids, 9 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Jo Hanko de Villiers, 6 Len Massyn, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Pieter Jansen, 1 Jacques van Rooyen (captain).
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Rhyno Herbst, 20 Hacjuivah Dayimani, 21 Bradley Thain, 22 Jan-Louis La Grange.